Easiest method for chopping eggs for egg salad

Let’s face it, we all have those one-job tools and gadgets in the kitchen. Isn’t it nice when we figure out another way to use them, especially when it makes a difficult job easier? Well, a few years ago, I was about to chop some eggs for egg salad using a fork like I usually do. That method can be really tough on hands, especially if you have any kind of issue like carpal tunnel or arthritis like I do. I’m not even sure how the idea came to me, but there it was… My trusty OXO pastry blender. It could cut cold butter into flour, so why not soft eggs? I just basically started pushing down on my bowl of hard boiled eggs and got slices… Kept kind of mashing and twisting and within seconds, I had a nice medium-fine chop. A good, sturdy pastry blender is a must, though! Some of the ones I’ve seen are nothing more than 12-14g wire, which bends too easily. The OXO blender uses blades and cleaning it is very easy. Just make sure you wash it right away or you’ll have dried-on egg stuck to it, which is a pain to remove without a long soaking.

20140526-183450-66890162.jpg

20140526-183633-66993357.jpg

20140526-183450-66890616.jpg

Leave a Reply

